Featured New Release Of The Week: Take It Back by Kia Adbullah

This week we’re looking at a strong British courtroom thriller that seems to set up a new series. This week we’re looking at Take It Back by Kia Abdullah.

Writer’s block still plagues me, but here’s the Goodreads/ BookBub review:

Nuanced Courtroom Thriller. This is an interesting one. One with a main protagonist that… has several rough edges, at least a couple of which come back to bite her. One with a strong commentary about the role of Muslims in British (and by slight extension, Western) society, at many different levels. One with a strong discussion of what it means to be the “other”… in so many different ways. And one with secrets almost literally to the last word. Tremendous book, and very much recommended.

#BookReview: NPC by Jeremy Robinson

Robinson Is Back With Another Mindbender. In this book, The Modern Day Master of Science Fiction creates yet another absolute breakneck thriller that also happens to be one of the most mind-bending books of his career, right up there with ALTER and INFINITE. It *also* is one of the few books at this “more developed” stage of his career where he openly wrestles with religious and philosophical issues, and indeed the very debate between our two primary characters on these topics is some of the most intense and intriguing bits of the book. Still, for those who want to gloss over the philosophy and focus on the action, there is still quite a bit of that here as well, and indeed the debates often happen in the middle of the intense action. (Think: Brian and Dom having a debate about the nature of reality *while in the middle of the airplane chase scene* at the end of Fast 6.) There are numerous reasons I call Robinson “The Modern Day Master of Science Fiction”, and this book just adds to them. Very much recommended.

This review of NPC by Jeremy Robinson was originally written on July 1, 2020.

#BookReview: Call To Power by Jack Page

Excellent Corporate Thriller. If you like corporate board room power plays and machinations, this book is right up your alley. If you like Godfather-esque stories of honor and destroying enemies who disrespect you, you’re going to love this book. If you absolutely want nothing to do with corporate America at all in any way whatsoever… you can probably already tell that you should probably skip this book, but I’m going to tell you that your reluctance there is going to cost you an awesome read. Per the bio at the back of the text, Page is a new pseudonym for an author that has previously been well received, if not necessarily well known, and that level of execution bleeds through the entire text here. Very much recommended.

This review of Call To Power by Jack Page was originally written on July 1, 2020.

#BookReview: The Chamber by John Sneeden

Another Fast Paced Thriller. If you like Indiana Jones type adventures, but set in the current era rather than the 1930s… you’re gonna love this one. In the end, it turns out to be a chase for one of the very same objects Indy himself sought, though revealing which one would be a somewhat significant spoiler. For those looking for action books in the midst of so many much-hyped books of… let’s say less shooting and more shouting… this is a book you’ll want to check out. Very much recommended.

This review of The Chamber by John Sneeden was originally written on June 14, 2020.

#BookReview: Strike Me Down by Mindy Mejia

Raise Me Up. In some ways, this is your stereotypical whodunit, straight down to most of the action happening in some remarkable-yet-unremarkable Midwestern town with a coda in the Caribbean. In others, it takes some fun risks, even if most of them are off screen. All in all, this is arguably to CPAs what John Grisham’s books – particularly his earlier ones- are to lawyers. And considering that Grisham’s early books were perennially best selling books of the year through the 90s and even early 00s… I’m pretty sure Mejia won’t exactly mind the comparison. 😉 I had the ultimate culprit pegged somewhere between 50 and 66% through, though the endgame was a bit shocking and the epilogue even moreso. Excellent book, again, particularly for Grisham fans, and very much recommended.

This review of Strike Me Down by Mindy Mejia was originally written on April 12, 2020.

#BookReview: Bloodstorm by David Wood and Sean Ellis

The End of the Beginning. This was an excellent tale of Dane Maddock and Uriah ‘Bones’ Bonebreak’s final mission as US Navy SEALs. As with the Star Wars prequel series, everything we have known that was specific to this era and would not continue into the next is resolved, while the things that do continue into the next era are set up nicely and alluded to hilariously. Truly an excellent tale that does all that it needs to do yet never feels burdened by the load at all, doing it all organically within the story itself.

This review of Bloodstorm by David Wood and Sean Ellis was originally published on April 12, 2019.

#BookReview: Ark Found by Rick Chesler

Amazing Adventure. In this second outing of the Omega Team, Chesler pairs taut action sequences with stunningly beautiful set pieces… and manages to toss in a couple of points to ponder as well. Even though it is Book 2, it can absolutely be read first, as virtually nothing from the first adventure is spoiled in this book other than the basic setup of who the adversaries are on each side. Fans of Clive Cussler or James Rollins should enjoy this combination of sea and historical mystery with globe spanning action and adventure, and I for one am looking forward to the next entry in the series!

This review of Ark Found by Rick Chesler was originally published on February 27, 2019.

#BookReview: The Three Secret Cities by Matthew Reilly

Yet Another Wild Ride! At this point, if you’re following these books you’re going to keep reading them. If you haven’t picked them up yet, go back to 7 Deadly Wonders and start the series from there – there is *so* much to get caught up on before picking this book up. (Though in fairness, you can largely follow this particular book just from reading 4 Legendary Kingdoms first.) HOWEVER, that “shocking ending”… wasn’t, at least not for me. Until the final few words. And *now* I am intrigued and looking forward to the 2 ____ _____ with baited breath!

This review of The Three Secret Cities by Matthew Reilly was originally published on January 6, 2019.

#BookReview: Hotel Megalodon by Rick Chesler

Not Your Normal Meg Story. Other than taking place near a trench in the Pacific Ocean, this isn’t your typical Megalodon story at all. With this one, the terror takes place in an enclosed-ish island/ reef area with the trench just outside the reef, and thus the terror is a bit more immediate. Definetly an interesting take on the subgenre, and one that is perfectly safe to read when in the Atlantic or Caribbean – neither of which have ever (to my knowledge) featured a Meg story. 😀

This review of Hotel Megalodon by Rick Chesler was originally published on November 20, 2018.

#BookReview: Past Tense by Lee Child

Reacher Being Reacher. This is Reacher number 23, and kind of in the middle of the pack overall. Not the best Reacher story, but not the worst either. Third person again, and while the bad guys are truly bad, they aren’t quite as bad as I was fearing – I thought early on Child might be going for more current headlines ala the last Reacher tale, and instead he shifts into something that is rumored online but which I’ve never seen actual evidence of. Don’t start with this book if you’re new to Reacher, but if you’ve read even a single Reacher reading this one out of order won’t be a problem other than introducing certain new wrinkles that could be interesting going forward, should Child decide to pursue them.

This review of Past Tense by Lee Child was originally written on November 18, 2018.