#BlogTour: The Memory Bones by B.R. Spangler

For this blog tour, we’re looking at a book that I actually reviewed a month ago, in a weird situation I’ll detail at the end of this post. For this blog tour, we’re looking at The Memory Bones by B.R. Spangler.

Here’s a recap of the Goodreads review:

A Finale. Without going *too* deep into spoiler territory, by the end of this book the long-running mythos surrounding Detective White achieves a resolution – and not only that, but several other character arcs seem to be wrapped up as well. So much so that this book ends feeling like a series finale – until you hit the author note at the back, confirming that the author *is* working on the next book in this series. Which means that this book isn’t so much *series* finale as “season” finale, and I for one can’t wait to see what else the author cooks up from here.

As to this particular tale, yet again Spangler manages to craft a fairly inventive way to murder, and yet again the mystery here is quite wide ranging and explosive – and based on at least one real world situation that I am aware of, that went on at least as long before it was detected. (Though to be clear, I am not aware of any murders happening in the real world variant to preserve the secret… though it is at least theoretically possible.)

But the real stars of this series are White and her team, and here they yet again step up and provide much of what makes this series so great. Yes, Spangler is solid on the mysteries and murders, but it is in this part, in developing the entire cast of characters and their relationships, that Spangler truly excels and indeed (possibly arguably) overcomes the limitations and perceptions of this genre. Very much recommended.

After the jump, the various “publisher details”, including the book description, author bio, and social media and buy links. And the explanation. 😀

Book: The Memory Bones
Author: B.R. Spangler
Pub Day: Dec 2nd, 2021

Book Description:
Looking down at the familiar, pale and lifeless face floating in the salty waters of the marsh, her blood freezes. It’s a face she hasn’t seen for years, but used to know so well…

When Detective Casey White is called to a murder scene in the Outer Banks saltmarshes, she’s devastated to find the strangled body of her ex-husband—father of her missing daughter Hannah. And nearby, an older, unidentifiable body is buried too… but how are these bones linked to her ex?

Painful memories flood back as Casey desperately searches his apartment, surrounded by photos of them happy with their little girl. Finding a notepad with the name of the hospital where Hannah was last seen scrawled on it, Casey realizes her ex recently discovered something about their child’s disappearance. But who was trying to silence him?

Then forensics show the bones belong to a sweet young nurse who worked at the same hospital. Delving into hospital records, Casey is shocked to learn she once held Hannah as a little baby…

Her boss insists she can’t work such a personal investigation, but Casey is in too deep. Interviewing all the staff at the hospital, she’s sure one of the doctors is acting suspiciously… and that night, Casey wakes up barely able to breathe as flames devour her home.

Now she’s in the killer’s sights. To finally catch this twisted monster and learn what happened to her stolen girl, Casey will have to risk everything…

An absolutely unputdownable thriller that will have you gasping at the twists and turns. Fans of Karin Slaughter, Lisa Gardner and Robert Dugoni will be completely addicted.

Author Bio:
B.R. Spangler is a USA TODAY Bestselling Author of Mysteries and Crime Thrillers.

A resident of Virginia with a wonderful family, including five cats, two birds and a lizard. During the day, the hours are filled with engineering work. Off hours, time is spent writing, editing, and
thinking up the next great story.

With too many stories to write, books are split across pen names, writing crime thrillers, science fiction, horrors, paranormal and contemporary fiction.

To keep up to date, sign up for the BRSpangler newsletter sign up here: https://brspangler.com/sign-up. No spam will ever get sent, just some random musings or a heads up on when the next book is published

Social Media Links:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorbrianspangler
Twitter: https://twitter.com/BR_Spangler
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/brspangler/

Buy Links:
Amazon: https://bit.ly/30SigoJ
Apple: https://apple.co/3rguVfA
Kobo: https://bit.ly/3l76jCr
Google: https://bit.ly/3r8TbAg
B&N: https://bit.ly/3CXBTIY

Weird Situation Explanation:
I’ve been working with Bookouture on several of their blog tours (and other ARC reviews) for several months now, and I actually reviewed the prior book in this series, The Crying House. So when they put up this book for blog tour signups, I immediately signed up. But I forgot to put it on my calendar at all, and some time later the book comes up on NetGalley and I grabbed it. When I read it some time after *that*, I *suspected* I had signed up for the blog tour… but could find no evidence of this. Anywhere. Not on Facebook. Not on my ARC Calendar, where I had it on release day and color coded as a normal ARC TBR. Nothing (at that time) in my emails. Nothing. So I wrote up the review and sent it out, as I do. Weeks later… “here’s the blog tour materials!” email. Ummm…. So after a brief series of emails, it is confirmed that I *did* sign up… and Facebook somehow shows the comment as hidden… whenever *I* try to see it. But the people at Bookouture can see it perfectly fine. So as I said… weirdness. Apologies to all concerned for the confusion here. And this is yet another reason I personally would LOVE to get off of the Facebook platform altogether. 🙂 But it is one of the easiest places (at the moment) to coordinate such efforts, particularly for a blogger like myself that works with a wide range of publishers and third party groups. ANYWAYS… go read this book. B.R. writes *far* better than I do, and I assure you, this book is more interesting than anything you’ll see me write on this blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.